Quick Update: Getting back into it!

by loveandothercrap

I realize I have written in some time. I just haven’t really felt like I had much to say. I probably still don’t, but I’m in a writing mood. And I want to get back into blogging daily because, well, why not.

Not much has been happening around here. Boy Child has entered second grade and I made the decision to put him in private school this year. At first, I was hesitating about it because it was a lot of money per month, started earlier than normal, and I wasn’t sure if he would get the education I really wanted him to. But he is doing far better in private school than he ever did in public school. Plus, the public schools have been closed for nearly three weeks because the teachers are all on strike.

While I understand the need for a raise, especially since they haven’t had one in nearly four years now, the only ones that are suffering because of this strike are the children. Not only are the forfeiting their education, but sports and after school activities and most likely their summer now. Because the days missed will obviously need to be made up at some point, and unless they skip Christmas, they will be skipping summer.

I no longer have children going to school in the district, but I still keep up on it because I live here and I am going to vote during the next election for new board members. Our current members are doing a bang up job… so much name calling and childish tantrums throwing around on both sides. It’s a sad thing to witness in my town. Not to mention I am being driven insane with the neighbor children home all day, climbing up the walls, screaming at the top of their lungs, or banging on my outside window.

So, that’s been happening.

I don’t know what else is new.

Girl Child still refuses to use the potty. I think she is scared of it. Don’t blame her… if I weren’t holding her, she would probably fall in the toilet. I keep meaning to buy a little toddler size pot for her, but I’m the worst at remembering when it comes to being in the store. I don’t know how many times I have forgotten to pick up toilet paper or paper towels, even while staring right at them. Usually have to make double trips just to get all the things I forget.

Love life is still in the shits. Though, honestly, I am not really looking. I don’t have time for nonsense like that. I would have to find babysitters for each date, find a guy who is willing to put up with children, etc. Too much hassle, yo! Plus, I like my singleness. So much more freedom, in my opinion.

I have to get ready to pick up Boy Child from school soon. He gets out earlier than normal at this school, which I like because I get to spend more time with him in the afternoon then. Though, half the time is spent helping him with homework and that is a pain because he likes to pretend all the things he learned at school fell out of his head when he exits the building. We just do a little at a time. (It’s week long homework, so he can afford that.)

I promise to update more later. Like I said, I really want to get back into blogging. It helps me sort out my emotions and lately, my emotions have been a jumbled mess. Plus, writing is soooo relaxing. I forgot about that part. Feels good!