A Different Kind of Love Story

by loveandothercrap

“Think of your longest relationship: describe how your love has changed over time, did you go from the giddiness of infatuation, to mad passion, to deep respect, esteem, and friendship? Tell us about your love story.”
The Daily Prompt

I am not in love. I thought I was once upon a time ago, but it turned out it wasn’t really love.

However, I have a love story, just not in the typical sense of “in love” with another man or woman.

My love story is about my mother. She has loved, supported me, and stood by my side for 27 years. Much longer than any other soul in this universe.

She loved me the moment she learned about me, before I was even born. I loved her the second I was born. My mother provided me with food, comfort, and love. She never stopped loving me, never stopped supporting me. She has loved and supported me longer than anyone I have ever known.

Even when I was a brat, even when I challenged her authority, she stood by my side. She stood by my side when I tried to push her away. She hugged and comforted me, even when I made mistakes that pushed many others away.

My mother is my superhero. As a parent now, I try to be like her. As a parent now, I realize how amazing she truly was and still is.

While it might not be the love story of the year, or even of a lifetime, it is mine. She inspired me, supported me, cared for me, and amazed me. She is now one of my best friends.

We may have our issues, we may differ, yet at the same time, she is there for me and I am there for her.

I love her with all my heart.

