Blindsided by a Damn Crib

by loveandothercrap

I live in a one bedroom apartment with my two children. As you can imagine, it’s not a lot of room or much fun. Space is rare. As I am preparing for the arrival of not one, but two new small desks, I have tasked myself with rearranging, cleaning, ridding of clutter.

The first thing that was going to go was Girl Child’s baby crib. She barely used it as a baby because she decided she didn’t like the confined space, saw it as a tiny, wooden prison. I set her up in my bed at a rather early age and suffered sleeping on the sofa for a little over two years now. I’ve been using the crib mostly for storage of loose toys and stuffed animals. In any case it was the ideal time for it to go.

Or so I thought.

I armed myself with a screwdriver and set out to dismantling the crib. I pulled out the mattress. I pulled off the side railing… and stopped. I clearly just followed the unknown instructions on the underside of the mattress… to turn the crib into a day bed. Be still my heart… a fucking third bed! AND IT’S BEEN HERE THIS ENTIRE TIME!

I was hit with a wave of emotions: shock, joy, happiness, relief, anger, and rage. I am subjected myself to sleeping on the sofa when I really didn’t have to.

I now fear I will not be able to get comfortable in the bed again. It’s been so long since I have had that luxury. My back has shaped itself to accept the lumps of the sofa. I have trained myself not to sleep on my left side. I have trained myself not to move in my sleep. With the access to a bed now, I have freedom! I have the freedom to toss and turn and sprawl out.

Maybe I will decide to still get rid of the bed and remain on the sofa. I did want to free my home of clutter and by keeping the newly reformed crib/day bed, I have failed that goal. Sure, I have made it work for me for the past 3 years. However, I never had two desks that need to be fitted into my home.

And those wondering why I wasn’t aware of the crib turning to day bed feature… it’s because I didn’t purchase the crib myself. It was a gift from excited grandparents. I didn’t ask what brand it was, where it came from, or for a manual. I just accepted the fact that it was a crib and that was it’s only feature. Next baby, if there will ever be one, I will study the shit out of the crib. I will learn about all it has to offer. I will be prepared so I don’t face more nights on the sofa!

