Phone Call I Have Been Waiting For

by loveandothercrap

I was having a decent day. It was going along smoothly – kids were behaving, Girl Child was hugging me randomly, Boy Child was talking to me about a lot of things, I got a letter from the state about unclaimed cash – but then the phone call came in.

I didn’t answer it. I didn’t want to deal with her. I need several minutes or hours to prepare myself to deal with her. I let it ring though to my voice mail. And a voice mail she left me.

Who called me? Well, my stepmother, you see. It’s not the first time she has called since my father’s death, but it’s the first time she sounded sober.

Her message said: (not word for word) “Hi. I’m calling because I have been denied money from your grandfather’s trust for funeral arrangements. You need to call me back so I can give you the lady’s phone number, so you can call and request funds for his funeral. If you do not do this within 10 days from now, your father will be buried in an unmarked coffin, and no one, not me, not you, will be able to visit it. And I am sure you really, really, reaaaaaaally do not want this. Call me back.”

The woman is calling me for money. The woman who threatened me if I ever called her for money… is calling me for money. Hold the phone, I am still trying to wrap my head around this, truth be told.

As I have said in several posts before, my father and I hadn’t seen each other for 7 years until the week of his death. I do not know if he made any form of funeral arrangements or had life insurance or anything… I want to think he was smart enough to take care of this before his death. I’m 27 years old and have funds to help with my funeral if I were to pass away suddenly. He knew he was dying. He had to have done something.

I’m not about to hand out a bunch of money, that I don’t even have right now, to his wife because she wants to use me and guilt me into it. She has several things of value that she honestly doesn’t really need… I mean, c’mon why does 1 person need 3 cars? She could have sold something by now and had his funeral arranged.

If she thinks I am going to be dumb and just hand over the money without investigating his financial situation, she is crazier than I thought. It’s her job to take care of this stuff. My dad chose her over me several years ago. I cannot help that my grandfather decided to work in a clause to have me inherit whatever money is in the trust fund rather than his son’s wife… who only knew him for roughly 3 years.

I don’t think this woman realizes I am no longer the naive 17 year old child that I use to be. That I can no longer be pushed or bullied around to get her way. I have burned one to many times to deal with that again.

If this makes me a horrible daughter for not arranging my father’s funeral, so be it. I was a “horrible daughter” seven years ago when I walked out the abusive home. I’ll wear that label proudly if it helps me not be used or bullied. I’m so mad about this right now. I’d call her back and give her a new one, but I don’t want to do that. I’m going to calm down first, collect my thoughts, and then call her back. It may not be until tomorrow and she can suck on my right tit if that’s not soon enough.

