Quotes to Live By

by loveandothercrap

I tell myself a lot of different things to get me through the day, week, month, or year. I have a collection of quotes I keep in my mind and close to my heart.

“Be kind because everyone you meet is fighting a battle in life.”

This is very, very true. I can not know a person’s struggles if I have just met them. The stranger could be dealing with a recent death in the family, divorce, or many other hardships. No one can tell just by looking at a person. I try to smile at everyone I pass throughout the day. Sometimes it’s hard to do because I am battling my own hardships or my attention is focused elsewhere, like on my children, but I tell myself, if I smile at one person, I may brighten their day.

“The best day of your life is the day you decide your life is your own.”

For so many years, I lived my life how I thought my parents wanted me to live it. I wasn’t happy. They knew I wasn’t happy. The day I decided I was going to live it how I wanted to live it, I became happy with my life (to an extent.) I still do things that I know will please my mother, but I do not do it if it doesn’t also please me. Most of the time, I realize her opinion may be the best.

“Someone else is happy with less than what you have.”

I realize I have it pretty good right. I have a roof over my head, food for my children and me, a place to sleep, clothes to wear, and a computer to type on. Some people might not have any of that and yet still are happy.

“The trick is to not let people see how really weird you are until it is too late to back out.”

I’m weird. I am the definition of weird. I just do not show it until a new person decides I am worth keeping around. Then I start to leak in my weirdness. They are stuck with me. Most of the time, though, they do not care and love me regardless. ❤

I have many, many more things I tell myself. I may write more of them later. I may keep those secret. 😉

