Never Give Up. Great Things Take Time

by loveandothercrap

Giving up is not an option in my life. As a parent, I need to be on top of my A-game. Giving up is just another saying for “quitting” or “loser.”

I have not had the easy life I imagined I would have years and years ago. Heavens know nothing in my today’s life is anything I ever planned on, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I could have easily given up thousands of times, and to be honest, I did come close a few times. But I picked myself off the floor and carried on.

I was 19 years old when I found out I was pregnant with my first child. I was in my first semester of college. I was still living at home with my father. I was the definition of unprepared. When I first saw that tiny pink + sign on the pregnancy test, I thought my heart had stopped. I quickly bought 3 more tests just to triple check, but each one was the same. I seriously thought about giving up my life instead of facing my parents.

Naturally I didn’t or else I wouldn’t be here right now telling you all this. I found my courage to come clean. I faced the music. I did have to drop out of college when I wasn’t able to make the 8am classes due to morning sickness, but I didn’t give up on college. I was fully prepared to return later on in life – and I still am, I just haven’t had the change to get back to it.

While I did have to give up my partying lifestyle, I did it for the best of myself and my unborn child. I never regretted giving it up because, frankly, I was already done with it by that point.

Over the course of the past seven years, I have had many ups and downs. There were times where I just wanted to throw in the towel and call it quits on different occasions. I never did. I found a way to talk myself out of those situations and, honestly, looking at my kids remind me of what I need to do.

Life is not easy. It never will be. Whoever thinks they can take the easy path through life clearly has a blindfold over their eyes. It’s just a matter of how you are going to deal with whatever comes at you. Do you fight it head-on? Or you going to curl up into a little ball and wimp out? I have decided to fight anything life throws at me head-on. I know it will not be easy, but that will not bring me down. If need be, I will call in reinforcements. I will layer myself in body armor and run out, sword swinging, fighting until the end. You take that promise to the grave!

Follow me on Twitter: @RndmRambling

Want to read more about my adventures through Life? Click here.

