Time Flying By, Trying to Hold On

by loveandothercrap

My daughter and I did something today that we hadn’t done since her baby years. Cuddled until she fell asleep. It was nice and sweet and I really enjoyed it.

We have cuddled here and there, usually while watching a movie, but after she hit the age of two, falling asleep for a nap while cuddling just stopped. So for her to cuddle with me for more than five minutes today was a victory in of itself. For her to fall asleep like that made me feel happy.

However, it wasn’t like when she was a baby. I had the dilemma of getting out from beside her while her head was resting on my arm and her legs wrapped around in mine. When she was a baby I would be able to just slide out and roll off the sofa without even waking her or jostling her. Now that she is 30 pounds heavier and several inches longer, it was no easy trick.

However, I did it. Supermom broke free without waking the child. I don’t know if I was just sneaky sneaky or if she was just dead tired to even notice, but I’m going to chalk it up to me being awesome. Because honestly, what else can I say?

It really does remind me that my children are growing. They are no longer the tiny babies I had when I brought them home from the hospital. I am not even allowed to call my daughter a baby anymore; she gets really upset, screws up her little face, and yells “I am not a baby anymore!” In my heart, she will always be my baby girl, but I am not allowed to even whisper the words anymore.

Then there’s my son. Seven years old already. I cannot even begin to remember where the time slipped away like that. I can still remember giving birth to him, his first bath, his baptism, and his first steps. It honestly feels like yesterday. I never believe parents when they told me that times flies by, especially my parents. To me, it felt like becoming an adult took ages and ages and ages. However, now that I have my own children, I can totally see where they are coming from.

It sure is amazing. Before I know it I am going to be sending them off to college or watching my daughter walk down the aisle in a wedding dress. While I look forward to those things, I wish time would just slow down. If I had a freeze or pause button, I would use it regularly. A rewind button may be nice as well.

I know I will cherish these little moments in years to come. I am sure I will have many more to remember with fondness as well over the years. While I look forward to the future, I still want to take it one day at a time. I cannot and will not miss anything.

Follow me on Twitter: @RndmRambling

Want to read more about my adventures in parenting? Click here.

