Promises from Mommy List

by loveandothercrap

I was up late last night, lost in the thought. I thought about my kids, and then realized I will not do certain things that have been done to me. I made them a Promises from Mommy list.

Promises from Mommy:

  • I will do everything in my power to be understanding of any situations that may arise. If either of you tell me you are gay down the road, I will accept you. If my daughter ends up pregnant before marriage, or my son gets his girlfriend pregnant, I will not scream, yell, or lose my marbles. I will help you anyway I can. I will drive you to and from doctors appointments, throw you baby showers, and stand next to you at the hospital cheering you on.
  • I will not freak out over the topic of sex. My daughter will be on birth control when she enters high school. I will give my son condoms. I will talk to them about the dangers of unsafe sex. I will be open about any questions they  have. I will answer them truthfully.
  • I will be open to discuss anything they have a question about. Whether it’s religion, sex, the subject of gay marriage. Anything. If I don’t know the answer of the question, I will research it and get back to you by the next day.
  • If I ever find a man I feel worthy of marrying, I will make sure my kids like him as well. If, later down the road of marriage, he becomes abusive in any way towards my children (physical, mental, emotional, verbal, etc.) I will always put my kids first. If my marriage is going to cost me my children, I will pick them first, every single time.
  • I will try to be more involved in their school lives. Whether it’s driving them to band or sport games, cheering them on if they are on a sports team, or going with them on field trips. I will be there. If they don’t want me there, I will consider the opinions, and we will discuss them as adults.
  • I will not ignore my children for 7 years. I will not even ignore them for one week. I gave birth to them; they are stuck with me until the day I die.
  • However, I will give them space. I refuse to be a helicopter mom. (Even if I want to be.) I will give them their space, let them experience their own mistakes, but I will always be there to back them up. I, at least, want one phone call a week when they are out of the house.

That’s all I got for now…I’m sure I will add more to the list.

