Bright Idea: Blogging Idea List

by loveandothercrap

I have a dirty little secret. I’m not smart. Sure, I passed all the proper classes in order to graduate high school, but I am not smart.

So when I decided to start a blog, a little voice inside my head told me, What could you even possibly talk about on a blog? 

I am not an interesting person to begin with, but I try to dive deep into the nooks and crannies of my brain to think of something to write. I must be doing alright since I even get a few hits and followers. I even get people from other countries reading my blog!

I suppose I could do research on different topics and then talk about it, but honestly, I left doing research writing when I left school. Sometimes I just log in and write. Those usually get scrapped or saved into the drafts though because I’m not sure anyone wants to hear about my love for chocolate or my desire to fly. I don’t even know if I want to read about those myself and I am the one who wrote it.

So while I was cleaning snow off my car for the hundredth time this winter, I was lost in thought. I wasn’t even paying attention to what I was doing and ended up with a bunch of snow on my pants and down my boots. But that’s okay because I came up with a totally brilliant plan!

I’ll start a list of Blog Ideas!

Because honestly, I come up with ideas to write about when I am normally no where near a computer. And by the time I am back to my computer I have lost the idea. But I can easily carry a piece of paper in my daily planner – in fact, there’s extra lose paper in there just for purposes like this – and write something down when it comes to me.

Sure, I’ll still write useless nonsense along the way because if I am going to take the time to plan out my blogging ideas, then I will be making sure they sound like a sane person wrote them. So my blog about the love of chocolate or desire to fly may still see the light of day sometime in the future, but at least now I can reassure myself that at least a portion of my blogs are worthwhile.

This makes me feel better. I’ll let you in on another secret. My New Year’s Resolution (well, one of them) was to write more. I love writing, and while I know I am not smart or the best writer on the planet, it still makes me feel good and better about myself. So there.

